July 15, 2009

Project Natal

Posted in Computer Graphics tagged , , , , , , , , , , , at 10:50 pm by sagito

For those of you who never heard of it, Project Natal is a new Microsoft project for the XBox360… Ok, let’s see this from a real-world perspective. I build games and play games. I have a XBox 360 and a Wii. The concept of Wii is just brilliant, I loved every cent I paid for each and every one of the games I bought. The very same can be said for XBox 360, except for the concept which is pretty much common nowadays…

Ok, so what is Project Natal? Microsoft’s attempt to control a console without controllers… Ok, right… So, what can I do? If I move my arms, then the character moves the arms in the screen. One of the videos from this year E3 shows someone playing a dodge ball-like game in a XBox360 without controllers. Hmm, nice, but I would prefer to actually PLAY the game with some friends in a real-world field rather then making a fool out of myself in front of a TV. But you can say: “Yeah right, but you could say the same about Wii”. Yes I could, but Wii was created as a party-game console from the beginning. XBox 360 was created for Halo 3 and Gears of War, and you can’t really make a party out of those…

Moving on… What if I don’t have an arm? What will the console do? Throw a NullReferenceException? What if I’m on a wheel chair? Or if I am a midget? Or if I’m tired and just want to sit down? Yes, I sometimes play Wii while I’m confortably sitting on the couch…

For more technical stuff… How the hell do you play a FPS with this system? The answer is simple, you probably don’t… Once again, you could say: “But wait… This is meant for party games”. Yes, I think that Microsoft has already planned the “DodgeBall Instincts Trilogy”, “Overdrive that cube!” and the “Kill the old blocky man – Collector’s Edition: Director’s cut”. Trying to transform a console which was prepared for bleeding-edge graphics into a party-game console seems to be a complete failure to me… You should have thought of that before, Microsoft… 😛

Here is the project Natal video from E3:

5 Comments »

  1. ” Moving on… What if I don’t have an arm? What will the console do? Throw a NullReferenceException? What if I’m on a wheel chair? Or if I am a midget? Or if I’m tired and just want to sit down? Yes, I sometimes play Wii while I’m confortably sitting on the couch… ”

    LOOOOOOOOOL. Brilliant!!! Just Brilliant!!!!

    • sagito said,

      LOL, thank you! xD At least, we have to say that Microsoft is coherent… It keeps on digging its own grave quite consistently! 😀

  2. Jacob said,

    Well, from what i’ve heard some of the games shown at the Natal project website were actually scripted, such as the skate scanning thingy and the driving one. The problem is, in some games, some actions arent replicable by human mimic. Take for an instance a hack and slash game. How do you jump and roll over yourself in mid air while shooting? Doing it in real life would b painful to say the very least. The thing is, while wii was made for party games, it can actuallybe used for non party games. for all kinds of games due to controllers. Project Natal is only applicable for a few softcore games, using an expensive and very prone-to-fail technology. I doubt it will be very sought after, and will probably have more issues than we«ve already got with the wii sometimes not acuratly capturing our movements.

    • sagito said,

      Yeah, You are totally right, I mean… What kind of games can you do to use that interface? I mean, innovative games? Everything else was already made by Wii! And let’s be honest, not everyone can use that kung fu game that was presented by Microsoft. So, is Microsoft reducing this party-game to children and forgetting the rest of the family? My dad does not think that changing a tire while someone else is driving is that funny indeed…


Leave a Reply

